Coroutine Scheduling

tcwden wrote on Friday, January 26, 2007:

Hi all,

I’m new to freeRTOS and coroutine.

I have a question about the function of coroutine scheduler in the documentation, which says:

"vCoRoutineSchedule() executes the highest priority co-routine that is able to run. The co-routine will execute until it either blocks, yields or is preempted by a task. Co-routines execute cooperatively so one co-routine cannot be preempted by another, but can be preempted by a task."

The above paragraph seems a little bit contradicting to me.

If the scheduler always schedules the highest priority co-routine first (presumably, at every system clock tick), then I would think that a higher priority coroutine can preempt a lower priority coroutine.

However, what it continues to say is that a coroutine will keep running until it blocks itself (by crDELAY, crQUEUE_SEND, or crQUEUE_RECEIVE). In that case, what is the use of priority for coroutine?

Also, assuming no tasks are running, when coroutine A (higher priority) blocks itself for t ms, and coroutine B (lower priority) starts running, will coroutine B stops and let A to run after t ms?

Thanks in advance!

Dennis

rtel wrote on Friday, January 26, 2007:

Co-routines will not preempt each other.  Therefore when a co-routine is selected to run it will continue to be the selected co-routine until such a time that it blocks or calls yield.  When a co-routine blocks the scheduler then re-evaluates which co-routine should be selected to run and will at that time choose the highest priority co-routine that is able to run (i.e. is not blocked).

Co-routines use a cooperative system, whereas tasks can be configured to be wither cooperative or preemptive.  The priority is used to select the next co-routine to run at each decision point.

Regards.

imajeff wrote on Saturday, January 27, 2007:

Hi Dennis,