Changing TICK_RATE_HZ and CPU_CLOCK_HZ

Hello all,

I have couple of questions on tick rate and clock. I am fairly new to the FreeRTOS community, please excuse my mistakes.

Info: I’ve been working on a somewhat custom port of FreeRTOS on Raspberry Pi Zero board, thanks to some great folk on github. I’ve started to understand some concepts and how the configuration works. I wanted to compare how fast my task is running and do some comparison stuff. At this point I tried some measurements using GetTickCount funtion.

Questions:

1. I want to use recommended tick rate as to not take too much rtos time. Default configuration was 1kHz. With 1kHZ, my task, which is doing some ode calculation stuff, takes about 55 ticks. When I lower the configuration to 100Hz, still, my task seems to take 55 ticks. This confused me, I tried to add vTaskDelay(200) in between. With 200ms delay, I get around 260 ticks. My question is, why changing the TICK_RATE_HZ has no effect on my board? Should I use some init function for this?

2. I am somewhat confused on what the CPU_CLOCK_HZ value be. In my configuration, value was 24MHz. Tough my board has an 1GHz single-core ARMv6 CPU. I thought this value should be equal to the clock speed as defined in specs. Am I wrong to assume this?

3. As I said, I’m doing some comparison work to get some rough idea on performance. I have a native Linux system with around 2.25GHz intel processor to take a reference execution value. It is comparing apples to oranges I know, but still the difference was huge. On this native system, where I force use a single core, the code execution takes about 26 micro seconds. Alas on my board, according to the tick calculation, it takes around 55 miliseconds. I expected it to be at least in similar ballpark range(maybe around 200-500 micro range, it is 1000 times slower). What do you think?

Hello @serhat! Thanks for reaching out.