Blocking code advice for a Newbie

Hello,
Please forgive questions from a complete beginner. I am hoping to use FreeRTOS for controlling my model railway using Arduino. I have implemented a sketch already which starts a train, follows it around a loop of track using Light dependent resistors under the track and changes points, etc. My single threaded code essentially includes waits until a train reaches the next LDR with a line of code like this - “while (analogRead(StationstarterTC) < threshold);” This is fine for one Arduino controlling one train round the track.
I now want to control two train loops simultaneously with one arduino running round two loops independently. The code logic should be identical for the two loops but I realise it should not be blocking. Is my “while (analogRead(StationstarterTC) < threshold);” blocking code? And if so how should I modify it? Thanks in advance.

The while(analogRead …) statement is NOT blocking, which actually is the problem. With a system like FreeRTOS, you want the tasks that are waiting for something to be blocking for the next time they have something to do.

One crude method would be to have the routine block for a period of time (fairly short) if the sensor isn’t blocked, which would then allow the program to go to the other task and have it check its sensor and block. The would allow several threads to run and sample their sensors.

A better option, if the hardware could support it, would be if the ADC could be programmed to automatically sample and generate an interrupt when the number goes above the threshold, then the ISR for that interrupt could activate the processing task, avoiding the overhead of just reading the sensor all the time.