ATm128 - 2 Uarts !?

nobody wrote on Tuesday, July 26, 2005:

Hi All,

I’m new to RTOS but have been working with the AVR series for the last six years and I thourght that now would be about time to learn to use a RTOS.

I’ve ported the ATm323 example to my ATm128 (using IAR compiler) this works like a charm and I understand the basic priciples of it all but !

How can i get both uarts up and running with interrupt and buffers etc. ?

I have a GPS module on UART 0 and have written a decoding driver (not for RTOS though) but if any one has some code for FreeRTOS that can decode NMEA that would be great to look at too …

Best regards
Lasse Madsen

rtel wrote on Wednesday, July 27, 2005:

The serial port drivers in the demo are written to test ISR semaphore and queue mechanisms from within an ISR.  They work fine but are not written to be optimised solutions.  They can be tailored to provide optimised solutions for different applications.  For example, depending on the priorities within your system it might not be necessary to switch tasks immediately a character is received.

If you want an example of a more comprehensive and structured sample driver than supports multiple ports then take a look at Demo\Flshlite\serial\serial.c.

As a simple change, using more than one port requires the xComPortHandle to be used to identify which port any operation is to be performed on.  This is returned from xSerialPortInit(), and then used as a parameter to the send and receive functions.  The code as delivered for the AVR only supports one port so the xComPortHandle is not used.

As a minimal mod:

+ Change the queue definitions from one Rx queue and one Tx queue to an array of Rx queues and an array of Tx queues:

static xQueueHandle xRxedChars[2];
static xQueueHandle xCharsForTx[2];