Assembly problem with GCC (from FreeRTOS port

guillep2k wrote on Tuesday, January 24, 2006:

Hi… I am a newbie with ARM assembler, so I am not fully sure about why this happens. In the LPC2000 port, the portSAVE_CONTEXT macro reads like this:

#define portSAVE_CONTEXT()
{
    extern volatile void * volatile pxCurrentTCB;
    extern volatile unsigned portLONG ulCriticalNesting;

/* Push R0 as we are going to use the register. */
    asm volatile ( "STMDB SP!, {R0}" );

/* Set R0 to point to the task stack pointer. */
    asm volatile ( "STMDB SP,{SP}^" );
    asm volatile ( "SUB SP, SP, #4" );
    asm volatile ( "LDMIA SP!,{R0}" );

/* Push the return address onto the stack. */
    asm volatile ( "STMDB R0!, {LR}" );

/* Now we have saved LR we can use it instead of R0. */
    asm volatile ( "MOV LR, R0" );

/* Pop R0 so we can save it onto the system mode stack. */
    asm volatile ( "LDMIA SP!, {R0}" );

/* Push all the system mode registers onto the task stack. */
    asm volatile ( "STMDB LR,{R0-LR}^");
    asm volatile ( "SUB LR, LR, #60" );

/* Push the SPSR onto the task stack. */
    asm volatile ( "MRS R0, SPSR" );
    asm volatile ( "STMDB LR!, {R0}" );

asm volatile ( "LDR R0, =ulCriticalNesting " );
    asm volatile ( "LDR R0, [R0]" );

/* Store the new top of stack for the task. */
    asm volatile ( "LDR R0, %0" : : "m" (pxCurrentTCB) );
    asm volatile ( "STR LR, [R0]" );
    ( void ) ulCriticalNesting;
}

However, once compiled the code looked like this in one of my ISR functions:

12b8:    e92d0001     stmdb    sp!, {r0}
12bc:    e94d2000     stmdb    sp, {sp}^
12c0:    e24dd004     sub    sp, sp, #4    ; 0x4
12c4:    e8bd0001     ldmia    sp!, {r0}
12c8:    e9204000     stmdb    r0!, {lr}
12cc:    e1a0e000     mov    lr, r0
12d0:    e8bd0001     ldmia    sp!, {r0}
12d4:    e94e7fff     stmdb    lr, {r0, r1, r2, r3, r4, r5, r6, r7, r8, r9, sl, fp, ip, sp, lr}^
12d8:    e24ee03c     sub    lr, lr, #60    ; 0x3c
12dc:    e14f0000     mrs    r0, SPSR