ARP Reply checking

fuchsc wrote on Tuesday, August 13, 2019:

Hi.

I’m using FreeRTOS+TCP for a TI TMS570LS3137 chip. It’s working very good.
At the moment I’m making some tests for the TCP/IP stack and MAC driver. One test is to send many ARP reply packages from a Win10 PC. I noticed that the data (MAC address and IP address) of these packages are taken to the ARP table without restrictions (except the subnet mask).
I’m not an expert of network stacks, but this can be dangerous because then other UDP packages will be send to another node. (I learned that this is known as ARP spoofing attack)
I also do not know if this can be prevent by the FreeRTOS+TCP stack or if other stacks prevents this. Googling this attack shows that, for example Linux, ignores ARP reply packages without an ARP request package.
Can this also be done in FreeRTOS+TCP stack?

Thanks and best regards
Christian

rtel wrote on Friday, September 13, 2019:

Bumping this up to the top as it was sat in moderation for a long time
(apologies - no posts are supposed to go into moderation).

heinbali01 wrote on Friday, September 13, 2019:

Sorry to see that your message stayed “in moderation” for such a long time.
From experience: when a post stays in moderation, it may to wait one day and just send it again. The second one might get through.
I will come up with an answer within a day.

heinbali01 wrote on Monday, September 16, 2019:

Any message that is apparently aimed at “this device”, will lead to an update of the ARP cache. There are two limitations though:

1. UDP messages will only update the ARP cache if the target port is active.

2. Once a TCP connection has started, it will not lookup the IP-address in the ARP table. The MAC address of the peer is stored in the Socket object.