Adjusting heap and stack size

Hi.

I’m new with FREERTOS or with STM32 :slight_smile:
currently using STM32F767Z.

I’m using FREERTOS - 3 tasks.
task 1 - generate and send messages with SPI
task 2 - retransmitting the messages also with SPI
task 3 - reads from CAN and UART and updating one of the structs.

the code is using pvPortMalloc() and vPortFree() functions.
initializing a new array and allocating memory with pvPortMalloc
when I’m running with debug mode I get stuck on HardFault_Handler() due to memset function (my implementation- the function is ok) on the new array.
seems like bad memory allocation.
it happens before the tasks start to execute… (in the init section)

I did some digging on this issue and I understand I must adjust the tasks stacks and the total heap size.
I have enabled the USE_MALLOC_FAILED_HOOK option and added a breakpoint in the vApplicationMallocFailedHook function and the code stoped there

I tried to read the comments in the ioc file but I don’t understand how to do it right.

this is the RAM configuration

_Min_Heap_Size = 0x200; / required amount of heap /
_Min_Stack_Size = 0x400; / required amount of stack /

/ Memories definition /
MEMORY
{
*** RAM (xrw) : ORIGIN = 0x20000000, LENGTH = 512K ***
*** FLASH (rx) : ORIGIN = 0x8000000, LENGTH = 2048K ***
}

using heap_4

this is the map file
MCU-MAP-FILE.zip (46.9 KB)

please help me :sweat:

Hi m-z,

if you wrote your memset() function yourself AND the fault reliably occurrs during your memset(), it should be easy for you to devise debugging strategies yourself!

What I would do is record source and target pointer to your memset() upon entry. I’m fairly certain that your memset() faults whenever the target pointer is corrupted (typically a 0 pointer due to a malloc() fail).

You should also add the minimum useful information (eg which port you use and which x in heap_x.c).