Adding FreeRTOS+FAT to existing FreeRTOS system?

I’m not sure, but I was wondering. If I have an embedded FreeRTOS system, and that FreeRTOS system already interacts as expected with the hardware, would it be possible to simply add the FreeRTOS FAT libraries on top of that system? If the flash is encrypted, would this also still work or does it only work with standard underlying DOS-type hardware?

Yes, you should be able to.

I guess it should work but you’ll need to handle encryption/decryption in your port layer. @htibosch is that correct?

1 Like

Many thanks!

I guess it should work but you’ll need to handle encryption/decryption in your port layer. @htibosch is that correct?

I’m still a student so some of the terms are a bit new to me. I’m not completely sure I understand what you mean, however, more concretely, the project I’m designing would use the following:

Base FreeRTOS system:

Infineon Github PSoC6 FreeRTOS

Evaluation board:

Infineon CY8CProto-064S1-SB

Which contains the following flash:

Infineon Semper Nor Flash Family

Does that help? Also, I am curious what you mean by ‘port layer’ in this context?

If you look at the code in the FreeRTOS-FAT repo, it can divided in 2 parts -

1. Common Code - This code is applicable to all the hardware platforms. These are .c files in the top level directory (such as ff_fat.c, ff_file.c etc.).
  2. Portable Code - This is hardware specific code. It is in the portable directory. As you can see, there are several sub-directories for different hardware platforms.

You will need to write a portable layer for your hardware platform. You can use any of the existing ones as reference.

In FreeRTOS+FAT, the contents of files is always treated as binary. It doesn’t do CR/LF translations, neither will add a Control-Z ( or ^D ) at the end of a file.

The FAT file system itself is not encrypted. You can go through the directories and you will see file and directory names, they are not encrypted.