Mode Change Library for FreeRTOS

Greetings!

My name is Giann. I am a PhD student working on real-time embedded systems, runtime monitors, and formal methods. One of the problems I want to tackle with my thesis is ensuring that whenever we deploy a set of monitors on a real-time system, these monitors will not turn the system unschedulable. To do that, I want to apply schedulability analysis algorithms to check the feasibility of adding a monitor (i.e., another task to be scheduled) to an existing schedulable task set.

With that said, I am particularly interested in the cases where real-time systems support mode changes (a.k.a. mode switching), where a system can transition between a pre-defined number of modes of execution. These modes need to be defined at design time and would consist of changes in the number of tasks and/or the scheduling parameters of the currently executing task set. For instance, task T1 could have a different period/priority in modes M1 and M2. In another example, M1 could have more/fewer tasks to schedule than M2. Regardless of what is modified in the task set, I’d like to check if the transition between modes is schedulable or not.

Although many papers in the literature deal with how to transition between modes, I can’t find a library or a practical implementation for FreeRTOS that enables mode changes. Does anyone know of any project/library that enables mode changes in FreeRTOS? Alternatively, could you provide a few pointers on what would need to be customized on FreeRTOS to achieve it? If there is any ongoing work in this direction, I’d be happy to contribute to it!

Thanks for taking the time to read it. I am looking forward to your reply!

FreeRTOS provides a very simple and generic scheduling model, and most of what you are talking about becomes very application specific, so it is not surprising that there isn’t direct support for this sort of thing.