Custom echo function malfunctioning when using mutex

Hello all,
I am new at FreeRTOS
Want to ask some advice about this situation:
I am building a small application to scan QR codes. This consist of 4 simple tasks, each of which blink a LED at a different frequency, and actually are accessory tasks to test the scheduling is being done right.
The main function is waiting to receive data coming from the scanner to save it before sending it to the terminal using a custom echo function.
This receiving function is not actually running in a freeRTOS task, because it runs in the background based on DMA to send and receive the data. When data arrives, it is received and sent by DMA, no CPU resources are used here. No FreeRTOS scheduling either for this activity.
Sending data is direct, for receiving I use a callback function.
Now, the custom echo function, uses a function that sends data to terminal, which is as mentioned based on DMA. Below is the function I use to send the data:

static void dataSend(char* msg){
	uint8_t newSize = strlen(msg);
	memset(txDma, 0, BUFFERSIZE);
	memcpy(txDma, msg, newSize);
	LL_DMA_SetDataLength(DMA1, LL_DMA_CHANNEL_4, newSize);
        LL_DMA_EnableIT_TC(DMA1, LL_DMA_CHANNEL_4);
	LL_DMA_EnableChannel(DMA1, LL_DMA_CHANNEL_4);
	LL_mDelay(10);
}

The ISR for transmission is here:

void DMA1_Channel4_5_6_7_IRQHandler(void)
{
  if(LL_DMA_IsActiveFlag_TC4(DMA1))
  {
    LL_DMA_ClearFlag_TC4(DMA1);
		LL_DMA_DisableChannel(DMA1, LL_DMA_CHANNEL_4);
		LL_DMA_DisableIT_TC(DMA1, LL_DMA_CHANNEL_4);
  }
}

Here is the echo function using dataSend:

void echo(char* fmt, ...){
  static char    echoString[BUFFERSIZE];
  static SemaphoreHandle_t echoMutex = NULL;
  va_list     a;
  if(NULL == echoMutex)
  	echoMutex = xSemaphoreCreateMutex();
  if(NULL == echoMutex)
  	return;
  xSemaphoreTake( echoMutex, portMAX_DELAY );
  va_start(a, fmt);
  vsnprintf(echoString, BUFFERSIZE, fmt, a);
  va_end(a);
  dataSend((char *)echoString);